What does Reset All Settings on iPhone Mean

- "Will reset all setting in iPhone delete all my apps and contacts?"

This is the question asked in Quora, and the answer is "No". It is "Erase All Content and Settings" instead of "Reset All Settings" that wipe out your iOS contents. You may notice that there are some similar items in "Reset" page under "Settings" and "General". Does Apple create options that do the same thing? Absolutely not, each item has its specific functions. If you have no idea what does "reset all settings" on iPhone do, you can read following paragraphs to have detail explanations.

Reset All Settings on iPhone

Part 1: Everything You Need to Know about "Reset All Settings"

Question 1: What does "Reset All Settings" on iPhone mean?

Answer 1: When you click "Reset All Settings", it will start erasing all your previous settings on your iPhone. In another word, your iPhone will be in default settings after you clicked "Reset All Settings" on iPhone.

Question 2: Will I lose iOS data after choosing "Reset All Settings"?

Answer 2: No. Nothing will be erased except for your system settings. So your documents, videos, photos, apps and other iPhone files are safe.

Question 3: When to do iPhone reset all settings?

Answer 3: You can fix most system errors by resetting all setting on iPhone. For instance, if you fail to update your iPhone or download an app, you can reset your iPhone to have a try.

Question 4: What happens if I choose "Reset All Settings"?

Answer 4: Your iPhone will be in factory settings. This operation will factory reset iPhone. The documents, photos, videos and apps remain intact in your iPhone. But your previous settings will be gone, like passwords, connectivity settings and etc.

Question 5: Do I need to backup iPhone files before clicking "Reset All Settings" on iPhone?

Answer 5: Only the system settings will be reset the moment you click "Reset all settings" on iPhone. But it is always necessary to back up iPhone to prevent data loss. Well, you can use Apeaksoft iOS Data Backup & Restore to back up data from iPhone to Windows or Mac computer by one click.

Question 6: How to Reset All Settings on iPhone?

Answer 6: Open "Settings" app. Scroll down to click "General". Select "Reset" and press "Reset All Settings" inside. Enter your 6-digit password. Later, a message will pop up asking whether you want to reset all settings or not. Hit "Reset" to start erasing your network settings, Wi-Fi settings and others. The whole process of resetting all settings on iPhone should be no more than 10 minutes.

Part 2: Difference between "Reset All Settings", "Erase All Contents and Settings", and "Reset Network Settings"

You can read following definitions and comparisons about those three terms. Even though "Reset All Settings", "Erase All Contents and Settings" and "Reset Network Settings" seem to be similar. It will be easier for you to distinguish them according to listed items.

Reset All Settings

How to reset all settings on iPhone:

Settings > General > Reset > Reset All Settings

Functions:

Resetting all iPhone settings without harming other iOS data. As a result, your installed applications and downloaded files still exist. As for network settings and other system settings, they will be deleted absolutely.

Reset all Settings

Erase All Contents and Settings

How to erase all contents and settings on iPhone:

Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Contents and Settings

Functions:

Reset not only your iPhone settings but also all your iPhone files. It is a factory reset choice. Once you confirm to erase all contents and settings on iPhone, your iPhone will be as empty as a new iPhone. So "Erase All Contents and Settings" is the pro version of "Reset All Settings" on iPhone. Just remember that your iOS data and settings will be gone simultaneously.

Erase All Contents and Settings

Reset Network Settings

How to reset network settings on iPhone:

Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings

Functions:

It will reset your network on iPhone only. All your previous Wi-Fi passcodes and usernames will be removed. Therefore, you need to setup iPhone network again manually. Otherwise, you can write down some Wi-Fi passwords before resetting network settings on iPhone in advance.

Reset Network Settings

Reset All Settings VS Erase All Contents and Settings VS Reset Network Settings

All in all, if you face network problems, you can reset network settings without influencing other settings. But if you want to reset privacy settings including network settings, then it will be better to perform "Reset All Settings" and keep data on iPhone. For people who want to resell or give away an old iPhone, then it is necessary to do a hard reset. If you really want to know relationships among "Reset All Settings", "Erase All Contents and Settings" and "Reset Network Settings", you can see attribution below.

Note: Reset Network Settings < Reset All Settings < Erase All Contents and Settings

Recommendation: Backup iOS Data before Resetting All Settings on iPhone

Well, it is never too late to backup important iPhone files, even though you will not lose any iOS data during the process of resetting all setting on iPhone. To be honest, Apeaksoft iOS Data Backup & Restore is your best choice. You can back up and restore iPhone data as easy as drinking water from a bottle.

iOS Data Backup & Restore

  • One click to backup data from iPhone to computer
  • Selectively preview and restore iPhone data from the backup to your computer
  • Highly compatible with iPhone XS/XR/X/8 Plus/8//7/7 Plus/SE/6s Plus/6s/6/6 Plus/5s/5c/5/4S/4
  • No data loss during the backup and restore process of your iPhone
Download for WinDownload for Mac

How to Back up Your iPhone before Resetting All Settings

Step 1. Connect iPhone to computer

Launch Apeaksoft iOS Data Backup & Restore on your Windows or Mac computer. Later, locate the "iOS Data Backup & Restore" mode. Use a lightning USB cable to connect iPhone to computer.

Launch iOS Data Backup & Restore

Step 2. Scan your iPhone

Click "iOS Data Backup" option. Later, iOS Data Backup & Restore can detect your iPhone automatically. Tap "Start" to select a type of data you want to back up. You can choose from "Media", "Message & Contacts" and "Memos & Others" categories. Hit "Next" to move on.

Scan your iPhone

Step 3. Get an iPhone backup on your computer

Select a destination folder to save an output iPhone backup file. Click "Backup" and wait few seconds to complete the iPhone backup process.

Backup iPhone to Computer

With the reliable one-click iPhone backup service, you can feel free to reset all settings on iPhone. And it does not matter if you have to erase all contents and settings to fix problems.

More Reading