Navigation

How to Restore Your MacBook Pro to Factory Settings

There are a few reasons you might need to learn how to restore a MacBook Pro to factory settings. For example, you intend to give your laptop away or troubleshoot your machine if it freezes or crashes. The good news is that Apple has made the process earlier than other digital devices. This concrete guide will take you through the proven methods and detailed steps you will need to take.

Part 1: Before Factory Restoring MacBook Pro

Since restoring MacBook Pro to factory default will erase all your data, you'd better back up your Mac with Time Machine. Moreover, you need to remove your account from all services. Furthermore, you have to turn off FileVault.

Backup MacBook Pro

Step 1. Connect a backup drive or device to your MacBook Pro

Step 2. Click the Apple menu and choose Settings.

Step 3. Go to General and click Time Machine.

Back Up Mac

Step 4. Click Add Backup Disk and select the backup drive.

Step 5. Click the Set Up Disk button.

Step 6. Input a password if you want to encrypt the backup.

Step 7. After setup, click the Time Machine button on the top menu bar.

Backup Mac

Step 8. Choose Back up Now to back up the MacBook Pro before restoring to factory default.

Remove Other User Accounts

Delete Account

Step 1. Choose System Settings or System Preferences from the Apple menu.

Step 2. Go to Users & Groups.

Step 3. Click the Info button on one of the other accounts.

Step 4. Click the Delete User button.

Step 5. Select Delete the home folder and click Delete User.

Step 6. Repeat the steps above to delete other accounts.

Turn off FileVault

Turn Off Filevault

Step 1. Open the System Settings app.

Step 2. Go to the Privacy & Security tab.

Step 3. Click the FileVault option.

Step 4. Toggle off FileVault.

Sign out of the Apple Account

Sign Out Apple Account

Step 1. Open the System Settings or System Preferences app.

Step 2. Click Apple Account.

Step 3. Go to iCloud, See All, and Find My Mac.

Step 4. Toggle off Find My Mac.

Step 5. Return to your Apple Account screen.

Step 6. Scroll down and click the Sign Out button.

Part 2: How to Restore MacBook Pro to Factory Settings

One easy way to restore factory settings on a MacBook Pro is the built-in functionality in System Settings. This way doesn't require extra software or hardware. All you need is your MacBook login password.

Step 1. Turn on your MacBook Pro that runs macOS Ventura or later.

Step 2. Click the Apple menu and choose System Settings.

Erase Mac

Step 3. Choose Transfer or Reset.

Tips: On macOS Monterey, go to Apple, System Preferences, and click System Preferences.

Step 4. Click Erase All Content and Settings.

Continue Mac

Step 5. Type in your Mac login password and click Continue.

Part 3: How to Restore MacBook Pro to Factory Settings in Recovery Mode

Another way to factory restore a MacBook Pro is to complete the process in Recovery Mode. This way is available to all MacBooks, including the old machines. Here are the steps to restore your machine to factory defaults:

Step 1. Go to the Apple menu and choose Restart.

Step 2. For an Intel-based Mac, hold down the Cmd + R keys on your keyboard once restarting your computer. When the Apple logo appears, release the keys.

For an Apple Silicon Mac, hold down the Power button after shutting down your Mac. When the Loading startup options screen appears, let the button go. Choose Options and click Continue.

Erase Mac Recovery Mode

Step 3. Click the Recovery Assistant menu and choose Erase Mac.

Step 4. Next, click Erase Mac again.

Erase Mac Again

Step 5. Finally, choose Erase Mac to confirm your action.

Part 4: How to Restore MacBook Pro in Find My

Even if your computer is not in your hand, you can restore your MacBook Pro to factory settings using Find My on another Apple device. The prerequisite is that Find My Mac is enabled on your computer.

Erase Mac Find My

Step 1. Open the Find My app on another Apple device.

Step 2. Log in with the Apple Account linked to your MacBook Pro.

Step 3. Go to the Devices tab and choose your computer.

Step 4. Click the Info button on a Mac or swipe upward from the bottom on an iOS device.

Step 5. Choose Erase This Device and hit Continue.

Step 6. Select Erase and enter your Apple Account password again to confirm it.

Note: If you don’t have another Apple device, log in to www.icloud.com/find in a browser, choose your Mac from the All Devices list, and click Erase This Device.

Part 5: How to Recover Data After Restoring MacBook Pro to Factory

If you forgot to back up your computer before restoring your MacBook Pro to factory settings, Apeaksoft Data Recovery is a quick way to get back your data. Furthermore, it works with almost all file types and file systems.

Apeaksoft Data Recovery Trustpilot Reviewed

Downloaded by over 1,000,000 users

  • Recover data on MacBook Pro in three steps.
  • Work for factory reset, accidental deletion, and more.
  • Support a wide range of data types.
  • Deliver a high success rate.
  • Available for macOS 10.7 and above.
Free Download

Secure Download

Free Download

Secure Download

Data Recovery

How to Recover Data After Restoring MacBook Pro to Factory Settings

Step 1. Scan your Mac

Run the Mac data recovery software after installing it on your MacBook Pro. Select the hard drives where your files are stored and the desired data type. Click the Scan button to begin scanning your Mac.

Main Interface

Step 2. Preview lost data

After data scans, the preview window will pop up. Now, you can preview lost data by type or directory. The Filter option allows you to locate specific files with a filename or path quickly.

Quick Scan Images

Step 3. Recover data on Mac

Select the files you want to retrieve and click the Recover button. Set an output folder and confirm data recovery on the MacBook Pro after restoring it to factory settings.

Recover Images

Conclusion

This guide demonstrated multiple ways to restore a MacBook Pro to factory settings in different situations. If your computer is accessible, you can restore it with the Erase All Content and Settings option. Plus, you can perform the task in Recovery Mode. The Find My feature is a remote way to restore your Apple computer. Apeaksoft Data Recovery helps you recover data after a factory restore.

Data Recovery Icon Apeaksoft Data Recovery

Recover deleted or lost data on Windows and Mac computer.

Free Download

Secure Download

Free Download

Secure Download

Related Articles

Dorothy Collins
Dorothy Collins

Expertise: Recover Data · Transfer Data · Clear Data · Back up Data

Dorothy Collins is a senior editor at Apeaksoft, specializing in data recovery and digital data management. She has years of experience testing file recovery and backup tools. She writes guides on recovering lost data, protecting files, and transferring data.